Parading in Pink

2 03 2014
Two guys walking abreast (that me and my buddy in the cleavage)

Two guys walking abreast (that me and my buddy in the cleavage)

It was a 
dark time growing up without king cake. I grew up in a time before
 Mardi Gras came to Baton Rouge. I’d heard about it as a kid and 
family friends would bring me exotic, glamorous beads from a far
off place. As a child New Orleans seemed much further away than 90 
miles and it was so foreign to where I lived. Even the accents of 
the people from there sounded funny.

That first experience didn’t 
happen for me ’till I got to college. My parents remained Mardi
 Gras virgins. But at some point in my young adulthood, a small
 parade began in the shadow of Louisiana’s huge phallic State
 Capital. Sure, it was a bunch of drag queens that 
liked to dress up and parade down the streets of the town’s oldest 
neighborhood, Spanish Town, but it was a parade. That little parade 
grew and grew and last year 100,000 came to catch the beads, or
 condoms, or white bread or whatever was being thrown off the 
homemade floats.

Governor Jindal was among many politicians skewered this year
Governor Jindal was among many politicians skewered this year

It is 
appropriate that a parade grew up organically in the shadow of 
Louisiana politics. It’s the honoring of our corrupt and crazy
 political history that makes the parade so fun. Add sexual
 overtones to it all and it is a day that is so fun and hip and cool 
that Baton Rouge can only sustain that level of intensity for the 
day of the parade. The Spanish Town parade doesn’t try to be a big
 and glitzy New Orleans parade with it’s imported celebrities. The celebrities that are at the Spanish Town parade are likely to 
be the infamous politician who just got out of  jail. The
 floats look homemade because they are. Pictures are stapled to the
 sides that someone downloaded and printed on their office printer
 when the boss wasn’t looking. The paint is barely dry on others 
because they were hastily put together with a keg and an 
all-nighter.

costume copy

Even the colors are 
different. Instead of the traditional purple, green and gold, 
flamingo pink is the color that rules the day. People dress in the
ir reverence of the parade spirit and of course in pink. You can’t
 be too pink or too tacky. That drag queen spirit is still present 
in the deep marrow of the costumed revelers. Families are welcome, 
but this is an adult parade with pink penis popsicles sold by the 
same vendor selling pink cotton candy.

The hightlight of the parade 
is the lawnmower brigade—the Krewe of Yazoo. They parade like a 
marching band, but they’re all pushing their lawn mowers. And each 
year they have a choreographed performance. Last year they were 
zombies performing “Lawn of the Dead” to the music, Staying Alive.
 My favorite past performance may always be when they were the 
Mow-donnas.

The Grand Marshall and me
The Grand Marshall and me

The Baton Rouge Spanish Town
 Mardi Gras Parade, a day of hilarity and friends and eating and
 drinking. It’s all the things I love about living here, all wrapped
 up with a big pink bow—just don’t ask where that bow has been!

If you
 enjoyed my blog, I’d love for you to
 hit the follow button and share 
it with your friends!
—Connie


Actions

Information

11 responses

2 03 2014
Lisa Garon Froman

Oh I know you were out having fun! Great pics Connie! I haven’t been to Spanish Town parade in years. Must reconsider.

2 03 2014
conniemcleod

Lisa, you must go next year. It’s the best thing about living here!

2 03 2014
Sheryl

What fun! This is something that really can make your day, isn’t it?

2 03 2014
conniemcleod

Sheryl, I am worn out today from all the fun I had yesterday!!

2 03 2014
chloeofthemountain2013

Oh my!!! What fun! To an outside Mardi Gras seems so frivolous and vulgar, but once you’ve experienced it you unattended why it’s so wonderful and you won’t be able to go back and do it again. Let the good times roll, my dear!

2 03 2014
conniemcleod

Chloe, it is a true celebration of the spirit!! I’m so glad you now understand!

2 03 2014
Lisa_GrandmasBriefs

I love the tackiness of this gala affair. Wonderful heart and spirit here. One day… (I hope, and hope you’ll show me the ropes when I get there!).

2 03 2014
conniemcleod

Lisa, it would be great if you made it here! You can’t be too pink or too tacky at this parade (that’s also pretty much true of any parade).

2 03 2014
Estelle Sobel Erasmus

Connie, What a fun looking parade. It reminds me of the time I ended up on a Mardi Gras float throwing beads at the heaving populace. Ah NOLA!
Estelle

3 03 2014
conniemcleod

Estelle, it is a ton of fun and much more simple than a NOLA parade.

24 08 2019
CREATIVE HEROES: Marie Constantin |

[…] be seen in a traditional Mardi Gras costume made by her Cajun friends at the pink-flamingo-filled Spanish Town Mardi Gras parade that rolls by her craftsman home. Or she can be seen taking a photographic portrait of […]

Leave a comment